A quick review of a 5 part fan-made Nightwing series.

WARNING: SCENES WITH BLOOD/WEAPONS (But, I mean, come on. It’s Nightwing.)

So, the first episode of a Nightwing kickstarter project released yesterday, and I had the time to check it out. (NOTE: I’m not a hardcore comic fan, I’ve just read some here and there.) I’m pretty much a pushover when it comes to any comic book or superhero type series. But, I mean c’mon, right off the bat, they introduce Deathstroke as the antagonist, and they even get a fight scene in about two minutes in. In case you didn’t know, Deathstroke is a mercenary that’s incredibly bad-donkey in his own right. Typically, he’s portrayed as a bitter antagonist, who’s devoted to his job and doesn’t seem to care otherwise. His fight choreography is to be commended, because he’s taking on over a dozen guys, and the action’s really drawing me in. Now, onto the main attraction: Nightwing. The actor playing Nightwing has that arrogant, playful nature to him, which really sticks to the comics. I guess he could put on a little more weight, but who am I to judge? Compared to me, who’s just eating donuts while sitting on my computer all day, writing random mini-rants about how actors should put on weight, when I’m in way worse shape, because I hate running, and not just because I trip all the time just walking and can’t even imagine what that’d be like if I were running, but also that the most I’ve worked out is walking to the restroom since before the age of dinosaurs-Hey, there’s a mention of Oracle!

Moving on.

This project started with a $20,000 goal, and achieved about $34,500, exceeding its original goal, within 60 days. Nice. If the kickstarter had hit $40,000, there would’ve been a custom Batman suit made, followed by a cameo in the series. Batman. BATMAN. BAAAAAAAATMAN. Mr. T, if you’re checking out this post, I hope you’re as psyched as I am.10686596_753698108041192_2731365164616163346_n

I’m really looking forward to the next episode, which is coming out October 6th. If you want to check it out, here’s the first episode: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o297A1wmys0

Here’s the kickstarter with more info: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/ismahawk/nightwing-the-series

Here’s the creator’s youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5XPCA8X9Q_4gIUBEg_yLTQ

Here’s the behind the scenes of how the suit was made: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nOiH1KGX_4g&list=PLKYGZbsY88fw565dOvQhFbxIzSc7kDtVj&src_vid=EhHoUGlTFEo&feature=iv&annotation_id=annotation_2777423371

~Alan

Nice suit, huh?

Leave a Reply

