Death’s Effects On A Young Child / Rain and Funerals

Recently, someone that I knew had passed away. Even though I didn’t know her that well, I still felt a sorrow somewhat for her, mainly because she had left behind a six-year old boy and a loving husband. Apparently, the cause of death was an overdose of sleeping pills, and supposedly along with depression as well. Everyone who knew her told me that the husband cared about her very much, but if he really did, how did she end up depressed? But I can’t say much, and considering how I’m not part of the family, so my details about the death are very vague.

justintimesad_girl_in_rain

The matter that I really feel bad about is the boy she left behind. From what I’ve heard, their relationship with one another was very strong; they spentalmost every moment of their lives together. His mom took him everywhere with her: they sing together, dance together, do yoga together, and so much other activities! And now she’s gone. How can any child go through that process of mourning without being emotionally scarred for the rest of his or her life? I mean, just thinking about that boy right now just tears my heart. When I asked my mom, who attended the funeral (I did not due to conflicts), she told me the child didn’t really comprehend what was going on. Apparently, he was just told that his mom was now in heaven, which was a better place then here. I expected him to be distraught at what had happened, but since he’s only six, I guess he won’t realize it until later on.

How will the relationship between the father and the child go from here on out? I remember the father making a Facebook post saying that this a hard time for them, but they are getting through this together. But seeing how the mother had been at a depression stage, I’m not sure if the father had always been there. However, I’m in no place to judge. I could see the bond between the father and the boy to strengthen during the boy’s elementary years, but as he gets to his teenage years, I imagine that he would lash out on his father, saying things relating to his mother’s death years ago that may hurt the relationship. At that point of the boy’s life is when his perspective of what happened years ago changes immensely. The stress and “rebel” stage causes him see the death as possibly his mom abandoning him or choosing to not believe in religion, saying that God took away his mom, or thinking that what if heaven doesn’t actually exist? There are many possibilities. And whatever happens, I hope that together, they will make it through in the end, finishing strong.

What led me to talk about all this in the first place? Rain. The first thing I happen to think about when I hear rain is usually funerals or death for some reason. And no, I’m not a violent person. It’s pretty common for movies to add rain in death/funeral scenes. Why? Is rain meant to represent sorrow? Is it meant to be a symbol of pain?

Every time we see rain in movies, it has to be a sorrowful scene. Someone has to be in pain or have died, like in The Amazing Spider-Man 2, at the funeral of Gwen’s dad. Rain also resembles tears. The sun shines bright, and the word bright gives us a positive connotation. The rain is so similar to crying, it has to be related to sorrow.

joy-and-sorrow12

But everyone sees rain differently. Some think of it as calming, while others think of it as happy because it just translates to them as a day inside, which they enjoy. I have a friend who enjoys listening to rain sounds while working.

But me, I just usually first see it as symbol of sorrow.

~Dennis

2 thoughts on “Death’s Effects On A Young Child / Rain and Funerals

  1. Pingback: A Soon-Nostalgic Experience (just kidding) | Shadows of the Day

Leave a Reply

