Life and Its Ups and Downs

“I choose a lazy person to do a hard job. Because a lazy person will find an easy way to do it.”-Bill Gates

As a lazy person myself, I feel like I just want to quit life and and to stay in bed all day. The weird thing is, when I have long breaks and have nothing to do I actually want to do something productive. Life in my opinion is too unbalanced, some days I don’t even think there is enough time to do everything and get 8 hours of sleep while some days I feel like I’m in solitary confinement. Other times, I wonder if these problems in my life are just complaints from a spoiled brat. I think in life you should always find something positive to look forward to, or else you will become mentally unhealthy. For example, a kid who only has a bunch of honors/AP classes and nothing else in his life may turn to cheating or even drugs if they are too stressed out and find nothing worth going to school for. Although being a couch potato is unhealthy, so is being a workaholic. As my parents would say sometimes, too much of anything is bad for you, even if it’s good in small amounts. For example, sugar may receive lots of criticism for a variety of health problems, is actually important for your health. More information here.

This is what I feel like in the morning.

This is what I feel like in the morning.

I feel like life is an emotional roller coaster, with some bad times in life such as a death of a family member or happy times in your life like getting married. I mean, you could turn the situation around by using a positive attitude. For instance, you could make going to the doctor less miserable by thinking about different medical practices people had back then versus the more ethical treatments like shots or anesthesia. With the holidays coming up, for some it may be a nice break from school or work or for others stressful due to shopping lists to attend to. I would say you need to keep a positive attitude whenever you can, because if you think negatively you start to have anger towards the world and no incentive to keep on doing what you are doing.

Speaking of laziness vs hard labor, here’s a video asking whether we are born lazy or not

Unfortunately, there will be times in life that are negative. Death is something we all have to face whether we like it or not.  Illness and loss of family are other losses in life. For me, I just think of how living in the 21st century has made life more relaxing and easier than it was years ago. I mean, I honestly don’t even know what I would have done for entertainment years ago. We should all be thankful for medicine and more forms of entertainment. Even though death can come to us at any moment, we should live each day as if it’s our last. There are positives and negatives to most things in life. Social media can be used to remind each other of various tasks we have to do but can waste lots of time. Typing may make communication faster but makes our handwriting worse. I always go with the flow and find others to support each other in this crazy thing we call life.

What it must be like I have a tomb the size of the pyramids!

What it must be like to have a tomb the size of the pyramids!

~Martin (Loquacious Magpie)

Leave a Reply

