Why Everyone Should Make Their Own Videos

With Presidents’ Day last week,  I made videos with my friends. At first, I thought it was going to be a disaster and we weren’t going to get anything done. I was half-right. I don’t know how, but three videos took around six hours to finish… Well, we weren’t doing much for a couple hours. But the thing is, I actually had fun doing work. You heard me right.

                   Fun. While. Working.

How cool is that? Now I don’t like working, but that day when I saw everyone’s videos, it was a fun weekday.

Should we do more for Presidents' Day?

Should we do more for Presidents’ Day?

After that experience, I think we should all make videos in our lives. A popular, old example would be the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. There were creative variations, such as using toilet water or getting splashed by multiple buckets. Now I know this may sound like a waste of time, but if you’re ever bored or you want to spend some time with your kids, this is a perfect way to do it. I suggest that before you do make the video, you should get some props first. If you don’t have any, just borrow from your friends or neighbors. For me, I would try to find a theme, then go mutate the story however you want from there. The theme or subject can be from a movie, TV show, book, sports, music, or whatever you’re interested in.

Make sure to check out my other post about viral challenges!

Make sure to check out my other post about viral challenges!

Finally, to answer the question above: it is simply a great bonding experience. To be honest, there’s not much of a purpose, unless you actually have to do it for work, but it strengthens friendships and helps you with editing and planning. Making videos is like playing, with no actual physical rewards, but it develops our brain according to Michael from Vsauce. Not only does it help you be better friends or make friends, it distracts you from entering bad habits such as drugs. It’s also a great way to start conversations or just something nice to share with your friends. If you don’t mind exposing yourself to the world, you can post on Youtube, Vine, or whatever website you use and see if it becomes popular. Who knows? Maybe one day you’ll become super popular and have a bunch of channels like Smosh.

Who is your favorite Youtuber?

Who is your favorite Youtuber?

Maybe if you’re bored that your favorite TV show or book series isn’t coming fast enough (that Flash promo though… why do I have to wait until March!), you could recreate your favorite scene if you want. I have to admit, these may not be the strongest of reasons, but we draw and make music, even though there’s no necessity for it, but just for the heck of it. The only downside may be the budget costs. In that case, just write a novel or go draw something. Also, I hate to say it, but most of us aren’t going to get millions of subscribers or billions of views, so I would say not to get obsessed with constantly updating your social media with videos. Just make a couple, as a nice, relaxing excuse to hang out with your friends or something to look back at years later.

Lastly, I think more classes should start replacing some boring projects such as book reports and turn them into video projects. In my opinion, it’s easier to remember something from a creative, funny video than standing up in front of class and possibly hearing and seeing the same thing over and over again. The grade, however, should depend on the content of the video, not the quality, such as editing or a lot of props. Don’t waste too much time making videos or video blogging all day (seriously, why do people film so much of their lives on Youtube?), although I’m being a hypocrite by posting multiple pages of posts a week, but I don’t post every single, freaking day.

Props to “Nemo” from pixabay, Anthony Quintano from Flickr, and “nominalize” from pixabay for the images.

~Martin (Loquacious Magpie)

 

 

Leave a Reply

